The Brexit move may have brought up a lot of disagreement between the Labour and Conservatives in the United Kingdom.

Conservative MPs have triggered a vote of no confidence in Theresa May, plunging the Brexit process into chaos as Tory colleagues indicated they no longer had faith in the prime minister to deliver the deal.

Sir Graham Brady, the chair of the 1922 Committee, has received at least 48 letters from Conservative MPs calling for a vote of no confidence in May. Under party rules, a contest is triggered if 15% of Conservative MPs write to the chair of the committee of Tory backbenchers.

A ballot will be held on Wednesday evening between 6pm and 8pm, Brady said, with votes counted “immediately afterwards and an announcement will be made as soon as possible”. Sources said an announcement could be made by 10pm.

May says new PM would have to delay Brexit if she loses confidence vote – politics live
Read more
If she is effectively sacked after the ballot, a contest could take up to six weeks to complete.

On Tuesday night, ministers warned that such a successful challenge would mean that article 50 might have to be suspended.

Potential candidates to lead the Tories and become the new prime minister include the former foreign secretary Boris Johnson, the home secretary, Sajid Javid, the foreign secretary, Jeremy Hunt, and the international development secretary, Penny Mordaunt.