The nine are due to be sentenced on December 12, according to the South African Police Services.

SAPS released a statement on Thursday, which reads: “Yesterday 1, 11 suspects appeared in the Durban Regional Court. The case against two of the accused was provisionally withdrawn. Siphesenkosi Knowledge Memela, John Sibongiseni Khumalo, Kwezilomo Madiba, Cebolenkosi Hadeben, Douglas Mhlaliseni Mkhize, Nolwethu Cokotha, Zibongile Njova, Sihle Duncan Zungu and Denis Thusi were convicted for public violence and are to be sentenced on 12 December 2018 after the probation officers report is presented to court.”

Eighteen people were injured, with six admitted to hospital, during the rampage on April 21 and damage of around R2.6 million was sustained at the venue.


Coach Steve Komphela resigned from the Chiefs hotseat after the 2-0 loss to Stars in the Nedbank Cup semi-finals, having endured increasingly hostile abuse from the stands following three years without silverware at Naturena.

Amakhosi were fined by the PSL and had to stage two matches behind closed doors against Polokwane City and Chippa United earlier this month as punishment. They will have to play a third without their supporters if found guilty of a similar offence in the next two years.