Egypt have won the competition thrice as hosts, lifting the coveted trophy in 1959, 1986 and 2006 at home. The only exception came in 1974, when they finished in third spot.


Egypt are unbeaten at home in 21 successive games, with their last defeat on home soil dating back to January 2016. They will hope the country’s superstar Mohamed Salah shines once again – the Liverpool winger was Egypt’s top goalscorer in the their qualification campaign with four strikes.

On Zimbabwe’s side, former Chiefs forward Knowledge Musona netted five goals during the qualifiers, with the Anderlecht striker and Khama Billiat being the standout names in a squad that features 14 PSL players.



Zimbabwe: Sibanda, Darikwa, Lunga, Mudimu, Hadebe, Munetsi, Nakamba, Karuru, Musona, Billiat, Mushekwi