CAF named Mahmoud El Khateeb (Egypt), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba (Both Cote d’Ivoire) as ambassadors for AFCON. Rabah Madjer (Algeria), Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria) and El Hadji Diouf (Senegal) completed the list of seven heading to Egypt to represent Africa’s governing body.

1. Yaya Toure

Toure was crowned CAF Player of the year for four consecutive years (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014), and and steered Cote d’Ivoire to winning the title in 2015.


2. Didier Drogba The Chelsea legend appeared in five AFCONS and reached two finals in 2006 and 2012. Drogba was named CAF Player of the year in 2006 and 2009.


3. Samuel Eto’o

The former Chelsea forward is a four-time CAF Player of the Year (2003, 2004, 2005 & 2010) and twice won AFCON with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002.


4. Mahmoud El Khatib

African Player of the year in 1983, El Khateeb won the Africa Cup of Nation with Egypt at home in 1986.

5. Nwankwo Kanu

The Arsenal legend featured in AFCONS and was CAF Player of the year in 1996 and 1999.


6. El Hadji Diouf Diouf was crowned CAF Player of the Year in 2001 and 2002.


Rabah Madjer

The 1987 Ballon d’Or Africain winner and lifted the AFCON title with Algeria in 1990 at home.