South Africa’s ruling African National Congress party (ANC) has been widely criticised for a submitting a list of potential parliamentarians that includes tainted politicians from the era of former president Jacob Zuma.

President Cyril Ramaphosa, whose pledge to tackle corruption is a centerpiece of the ANC’s election campaign, is first on a list of the party’s parliamentary candidates submitted to the country’s election commission. Deputy President David Mabuza and ANC chairman Gwede Mantashe are in second and third places.

The list also includes Ramaphosa’s allies like Finance Minister Tito Mboweni and Public Enterprises Minister Pravin Gordhan.

Zuma himself had been nominated to be included on ANC’s list, but reportedly rejected the nomination.

Former finance minister Malusi Gigaba and ex-mines minister Mosebenzi Zwane, who have been implicated by evidence at the ongoing state capture commission of inquiry, are on the ANC list.

Gigaba and Zwane are accused of having helped the Gupta family, friends of Zuma, enrich themselves. Gigaba and Zwane deny wrongdoing.

Zuma allies Nomvula Mokonyane, the environment minister who was recently implicated in graft at a corruption inquiry, and Bathabile Dlamini who was at the centre of a benefits payments fiasco, are named among the top 10 candidates on the list.

ANC’s secretary general, Ace Magashule, said politicians could not be removed from the ANC list on the basis of allegations alone.

“Anybody who has not been found guilty by a court of law is on the list,” Magashule told local media.